Community.

“Creativity is the power to connect the seemingly unconnected.” – William Plomer

It’s been a while, but I wanted to write about a local Instagram meetup I attended last month.  I have always had a love for photography and Instagram has helped fuel that passion even more.  The ability to instantly share photos, connect with other photographers and creatives, and also find inspiration is such an amazing tool for me.

I was lucky to find the Instagramers Seattle group.  They have already had such a positive impact on me by selecting one of my photos that was included in their mobile photography show, but through the group I have also met so many awesome people and feel like I am truly part of a growing community.

As I mentioned earlier, I attended a recent meetup (or Instameet as us gramers like to call it) where we celebrated the Instagramers Seattle one year anniversary. While I haven’t been active since their beginnings, everyone I  have met has welcomed me in with open arms.  It is such a wonderful feeling to have this kind of outlet.  To be around so many creative and genuinely kind people is contagious. Meeting every single person has been a great joy. We are all so different, yet alike immediately  because we share our connection through Instagram.   In addition to just finding more local people to share my passion, it has also given me the ability to grow a strong network of support, and if you are any kind of artist/creative/what have you, you know how important having support can be.

The team behind this group is amazing.  They are all wonderful and heartwarming individuals that make me want to do more to help this community continue to grow.  I hope this is just the beginning for such an amazing group.

Have you become a part of a community that helps and inspires you?  If you don’t have one, I encourage you to build one.  It might seem like a daunting task, but honestly even if you can find one person that shares a single passion with you, it can happen.  Start small, don’t give up, it takes time for things to grow.  But grow they will.  I would love to hear your stories.

Until next time –
XO,
Michaela Rose

Party People.
We explored the wonderful Olympic Sculpture Park on the waterfront.

Sometimes one creates a dynamic impression by saying something, and sometimes one creates as significant an impression by remaining silent. – Dalai Lama

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I intended to be. – Douglas Adams

I took my little Rosie along for the day.  She was intrigued for a while, but soon grew bored when the birds she was chasing disappeared.  

Here is a great shot of Rosie hanging out with a few fellow gramers while we were all lined up to do the famous, jumpstagram.
Photo by @Barbro

Instagramers Seattle, Instameet group shot. Say, “We love IGers Seattle!”

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

